Week 3

09/15/2020

Week three is off to a great start with lots of plant donations from supporters and my mentors at Meadowscaping for Biodiversity (www.meadowmaking.org). 

People biking and jogging on the trail often stop to ask about the project. It always surprises me how few people know about the benefits of native plants and the role they play in supporting crucial pollinators like bees and butterflies. 

I am concerned how quickly the water level of the adjacent Charles river is dropping. The level is so low that I am able to walk right into the center of the river when I draw water for the growing meadow. I checked the weather forecast and it looks like this area won't be getting rain for at least the next 10 days! 

Meanwhile at home the swamp milkweed nursery is doing great. Soon we will be able to transplant this Monarch butterfly favorite in the meadow. Contrary to what the name indicates, milkweed is not a weed at all! It is a crucial plant necessary to the survival of Monarch butterflies and a great source of food for countless other bee species. 


Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started